Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

My Buried Treasure

In 2011 Milliande hosted a month-long series of creative art journalling prompts and it was one of the most enjoyable activities I’ve done for a long time. Milliande had put a great deal of time and thought into creating this series of prompts and I’m happy to post it again as part of the Buried Treasure collaboration.

Buried Treasure

Buried Treasure

I have finally completed all 24 days of Milliande’s art journal for January 2011:

Day 1 – the prompt was “zebra up your intro page”

Milliande Art Journal Day 1

Day 2 – the prompt was to create a zendoodle then cut up an enlarged photocopy and use the pieces to create something new

Milliande Art Journal Day 2_Small

Day 3 – carve your own printing blocks and print them. I used a couple of potato halves for my printing blocks

Milliande art journal Day 3

Day 4 – create a face with zebra accents. I had no materials at hand to do this so I used a magazine image

Milliande Art Journal Day 4_Small

Day 5 – create a zebra hand

Milliande Art Journal Day 5

Day 6 – “stripey legs”

Milliande Art Journal Day 6

Day 7 – the prompt was “stripey windows”

Milliande Art Journal Day 7

This is the inside of my window – it’s a digital mandala I created. Afterwards, not shown in this scan, I added the words “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”

Milliande Art Journal Day 7 open

Day 8 – vertical journaling. I used one of those crosswords without black squares for the grid. I used purple food colouring for the background and lifted off some of the colour with kitchen paper.

Milliande Art Journal Day 8

Day 9 – layered lines

Milliande art journal Day 9

Day 10 – the prompt was “striped dragonfly”

Milliande Art Journal Day 10

Day 11 – crossword puzzles

Milliande Art Journal Day 11

Day 12 – daily debris – my daily debris consists of bills and endless cups of tea so I used an envelope with a transparent window and stuck on a number of tea bag envelopes, some postage stamps and did some doodling

Milliande Art Journal Day 12

Day 13 – taking lines for a walk – we were supposed to draw lines on the page, without any preconceived idea of what you were going to do, then see what the lines suggested to you. Mine ended up as a sunset landscape with the sky, a range of hills, the greenery of hills and fields and then the sea. I used water colour crayons and the colours are very muted in the scan

Milliande art journal Day 13

Day 14 – mirror mirror

Milliande Art Journal Day 14

Day 15 – Stories of woman

Milliande Art Journal Day 15

Day 16 – favourite number – I had the most difficulty with this one and am not really happy with it but the whole point of art journalling is that you don’t have to create a perfect piece of finished art

Milliande art journal Day 16

Day 17 – the prompt was “plump pears”. I drew them with watercolour crayons and added the “stitching” in black pen so that they would look as if they have been appliqued

Milliande Art Journal Day 17

Day 18 – lettering

Milliande Art Journal Day 18

Day 19 – toy or talisman. Cats are my talismans and I have always had a cat in my life from the age of 5 (although sadly not a cat of my own at the moment)

Milliande Art Journal Day 19

Day 20 – your front door

Milliande art journal Day 20

Day 21 – bonny bluebells. As children we were often taken to the nearest bluebell wood to see the bluebells, the sight of the carpets of blue always filled (and still does) me with joy

Milliande Art Journal Day 21

Day 22 – a favourite day in the life of YOU. This is a depiction of typical day on our holiday in Thailand. The rainy season had not finished and we were deluged with torrential rain for most of the day on most of our days. Serendipitously I found the Emerson quote the day I drew this

Milliande Art Journal Day 22

Day 23 – paper poem – this was supposed to be a found poem but I had no suitable to literature so I created my poem from the Splatt poetry game site (http://www.abc.net.au/splatt/games/poetry/default.htm). The words led to the image I created.

Milliande Art Journal Day 23

Day 24 – round and round we go

Milliande Art Journal Day 24

I would have preferred to be able to do these art journal entries in the comfort of my own home with all my art supplies to hand rather than on the move and staying in other people’s houses. However, this forced me to think outside the box and to use whatever I could lay my hands on. I had only used watercolour crayons once before so this was a useful experiment – I must learn to make the colours more substantial. I also found it hard not to want to produce a complete piece of work and to allow myself to experiment and not think too hard. I kept having to remind myself that it was all about experimenting and having fun. I also found that I was less successful with the prompts that didn’t “say” anything to me.

Comments on: "My Buried Treasure" (13)

  1. parispette said:

    This was a good post to select for the Buried treasures. What creative prompts – it woudl be fun do do it again. I might give it a try : )

  2. What a great exercise. I’ve attempted journaling in groups that provide weekly prompts and really struggle to create anything on the days that I’m not feeling the suggested prompt. Kudos to you for sticking with it.

  3. OMG – this is so helpful to me. I’m starting art journaling again and need tips – this is so useful

  4. Great, very inspiring post!

  5. What fantastic use of the prompts. You draw SO well, and had me impressed from the very beginning. Thanks for digging this one up.

  6. You clearly had a great time with these creative prompts
    resulting in some great artwork!

  7. This is just a stunning journal, and I am so glad you chose this post to dig up!

  8. So great to see your process with these journal prompts!
    Wonderful Buried Treasure!
    All the best,
    Mary

  9. Mary Warren said:

    Thanks for sharing this. I get so hung up on what I think a page should look like and yours seem so free and easy. I think I need to relax a whole lot more.

  10. A truly fab post that you have shared for Buried Treasure! It is fun to see the prompts and where you went with them! Nice art! Jackie”)

  11. amazing “buried treasure”. i can understand why you liked this challenge. my favorite page is the millipede…

  12. Your ideas are so varied and beautiful…Very inspirational! Blogging is totally new to me and seeing yours makes me realize there’s so much more to it! Thank you, wow!

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 854 other followers

