Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

one magazine 7 collages

This month (August) the Yahoo Cloth Paper Studio group offered the challenge – using only magazine create one collage a day for seven days. This time you could include photos of your backgrounds as well, so there was a before and after element to the challenge. I don’t usually make backgrounds for these collages as I tend to try and cover every square inch of the paper with images from the magazine. However, this time I did make 2 backgrounds but I haven’t included pictures of them here as I think you can get a pretty good idea of what they look like from the finished pictures.
CPS-day1-zentange
zentangle made from black and white images

CPS-day2-love-mosaic
love mosaic

CPS-day3-time-flies
time flies

CPS-day4-greens
greens (no message here, I just liked the way the colours went together)

CPS-day5-changing-the-face
changing the face of beauty. There is, of course, the visual pun here for I have indeed changed the face. Serendipity was at work here for the 2 images were just the right size and the colous complemented each other. I cut each image into strips and then interwove them.

CPS-day6-lovestruck
lovestruck

CPS-day7-butterfly
butterfly on a chain

Comments on: "one magazine 7 collages" (10)

  1. These are all great, Carol. The zentangle knocks me out because it looks so much like a tangle drawn from scratch. ????

    I love the woven one, I’ve sort of experimented with that myself and, I agree with you, the greens just have a wonderful balance to them. Must have been quite a challenge working from the single source.

  2. Carol, this is truly amazing. I don’t think I could make seven collages from one magazine. What magazine did you use, if I may ask? Good job!

  3. the zentangle collage is wild! you did great work!

  4. I used a copy of Elle magazine. At first it was really difficult to find enough images and I thought I would try and do small collages but somehow they just took over and except for the mosaic and the zentangle they are A4 sized. Marie Claire is usually a good magazine to work from too. I think some people in the US find the Martha Stewart magazines good ones too. Anyway it was a real challenge and has taken me a good week to complete them, working on them a bit at a time

  5. Lovely, Carol!

  6. Looks like you had a lot of fun. Working from one magazine must have been a real challenge. Great work

  7. love your reviews. will be back to read more

  8. Very nice, I like the butterfly on the chain.

  9. These are all so gorgeous..I love each one..especially the butterfly on a string..these take so much creativity and imagination…and they offer a world of inspiration to the viewer…Just wonderful..!

  10. woww…I am speechless once again ..I will start taking lessons from you soon Carol!! Great work!!x

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

