Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

Summer school 2011

At the end of July DH and I attended a theatre summer school, organised by Luxembourg’s NWTC, in the village of Clairefontaine on the border of Belgium and Luxembourg. I chose to sing my way through the week and he chose to do comedy in various forms. The week was hectic as we worked from 9 in the morning until gone 9 at night with tea, coffee, lunch and dinner breaks.

Now that I have access to my art supplies I have just finished creating some pieces inspired by the course.

The first is a mixed media painting of pomegranates to accompany a poem we heard entitled “how to cut a pomegranate” by Imtiaz Dharker from her collection of poems “A terrorist at my table”. I love pomegranates and the poem just cried out to be illustrated.

pomegranates

this is the painting on its own

pomegranate-poem

with the text added

In one of the other classes we were each handed a haiku to work on and I created a digital picture for this.

Budhha-haiku

Summer school is a wonderful experience where you are bombarded with new sounds, words, ideas and are surrounded by old friends and new. Silence and retreat from the outside world is just about impossible. In our singing groups we were learning complicated stuff – Bohemian rhapsody – for example, as well as taking a look at some new ways of creating “music” from non-traditional scores. At the end of each day I found it difficult to shut off as there were so many things flinging themselves around in my skull. I tried to explain what was going on by referencing the Hadron collider/accelerator (a high speed particle accelerator). When I told DH what this collage was all about, he just said “oh dear”. I am left wondering quite what he meant by that …….

Hadron-collider

Comments on: "Summer school 2011" (8)

  1. Carol, this is all so fantastic in the way you have blended all your forms of expression. Painting, photography, poetry, theatre, song…. I am resonating to it all. Lori

  2. thanks Lori. It was a wonderful week and, as you can see, was a good kickstart to something else. Have just started on The Artist’s Way so we’ll see what that produces.

  3. All sounds like it was good stuff, Carol. Love the pomegranate poem you chose and illustration you added to it.

  4. Great work. I am totally in love with the Haiku piece. That really touches me, painting and verse both. Wow!

    Vi

  5. Your work is going ahead in leaps and bounds. I love the way you are now blending all your interests into complex works. Great stuff.

  6. Love it all! The door is wide open for you!

  7. I’ve never heard of anyone else taking such an intense summer arts course; I’m turning multiple shades of green. The creativity quotient must have been up to the sky. I can see the “why” of your last piece! How did you ever come down from the high of it??? I have said it before, Carol, you live a most interesting life! God bless you and keep it up! You and your husband must be having a ball!

  8. The digital collage is wonderful. I am so impressed.

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

