Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

Texture Tuesday-Red

Kim Klassen’s Texture Tuesday challenge this week was to use a photo containing the colour red and to use at least one of her textures. I did 2 versions of the same photo as I couldn’t decide which one I liked best.

TT-red-201005030002_Efes-after-web-versionB

this one uses the autumn burst texture but I removed the texture from the poppy, increased the red, then added Kim’s antiquites overlay. I think on balance I prefer this one.

TT-red-201005030002_Efes-after-web-versionA
This one uses the autumn burst texture

this was the original photo
TT-red-201005030002_Efes-original-web-before

I haven’t yet mastered the art of putting 2 photos here that you can mouse-over to see the before and after :-(.
The photo was taken at the ancient site of Ephesus in south western Turkey in May.

Comments on: "Texture Tuesday-Red" (6)

  1. Both photos are lovely. You did a nice job of processing. Thank you.

  2. Both are lovely. I prefer the second as I feel the poppy doesn’t fight with the writing. Thank you for stopping by.
    Jenni

  3. Oh yes, very nice. The simplicity of the poppy against the vastness of the landscape which seems to go on into forever.

  4. Love the red flower in the foreground – especially in the second shot!

  5. Wow! I love the solitary feel of the poppy with the ancient, crumbling wall in the background. The text of the “antiques” overlay definitely adds a fun touch and a nice commentary on the beautiful wall!

  6. What an awesome shot. Nice use of textures in both photos.

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

