Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

water lily festival

In north eastern Thailand, in Nong Han near Udon Thani, the festival of Thale Bua Daeng Ban takes place. For just 3 days a year (this year 13-15 January), the lake is covered as far as the eye can see with pink flowering water lilies, confusingly also known as lotus*. For the modest sum of 300 baht (about 10$) you can hire a small boat which will take you into the middle of the lake. 3 school girls were waiting on the landing stage hoping to be taken on board by someone so we took them with us. It was an amazing experience.

20120113_1759_landing-stage

20120113_1688_pink-water-lilies

20120113_1690_pink-water-lilies

20120113_1691_pink-water-lilies

20120113_1699_schoolgirls

Needless to say, the Thais take great pleasure in organising festivals around such natural occurrences taking over the nearby temple grounds with food stands, stands selling clothing and souvenirs, and much dancing by local groups.

20120113_1774_temple

20120113_1767_temple-grounds

20120113_1773_food-vendors

20120113_1761_food-vendor

20120113_1768_dancers

dancers-page

20120113_1763_lilies

20120113_1764_food-wrappers

these are food wrappers

*the actual lotus flower is Nelumbo nucifera, also known as the sacred water-lily. There is a variety of pink water lily called nymphaea lotus.

Comments on: "water lily festival" (3)

  1. How awesomely amazing…all those water lilies.
    Thank you for sharing this experience.

  2. stunning – I need to start my calendar for next year…you have showed me two things I want to see! Do you have a particular site you use to find the festivals?

  3. The lillies are my fave!!!Reminds me of the poem of daffodils by Wordsworth..
    The same happens to me with the third photo Carol…I am ever so greatful to you for posting this photo to me:)xx

    “Daffodils” (1804)
    I WANDER’D lonely as a cloud
    That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
    When all at once I saw a crowd,
    A host, of golden daffodils;
    Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
    Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.
    Continuous as the stars that shine
    And twinkle on the Milky Way,
    They stretch’d in never-ending line
    Along the margin of a bay:
    Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
    Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.
    The waves beside them danced; but they
    Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
    A poet could not but be gay,
    In such a jocund company:
    I gazed — and gazed — but little thought
    What wealth the show to me had brought:
    For oft, when on my couch I lie
    In vacant or in pensive mood,
    They flash upon that inward eye
    Which is the bliss of solitude;
    And then my heart with pleasure fills,
    And dances with the daffodils.
    By William Wordsworth (1770-1850).
    …where the poet would

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

