Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

Photo Art Friday’s challenge for 4 May 2012 was to link a piece of photo art to the title from one of your favorite books?!! What was he/she thinking????!!! 😉 This was a real challenge!

I rarely read a book twice. Not because I don’t want to but because there are so many good books waiting to be read so it’s difficult for me to choose an all time favourite book. However, Ken Follett’s “Pillars of the earth” stands out as one of the best I’ve read. Not only was it a good story but it contained a wealth of historical information and brought the middle ages alive so vividly. For those who don’t know the story it’s about a stonemason who dreams of building a cathedral – an idea that was widely believed to be impossible.

PDPA-pillarsoftheearth1-w

PDPA-pillarsoftheearth3-w

The 2 photos above are of Notre Dame des champs (our lady of the fields), a gothic style church (elevated to the status of basilica in 1993) in the French village of Avioth, which lies close to the Belgian border. Not far from here is the beautiful cistercian abbey of Orval.

PDPA-pillarsoftheearth2-w

Avioth is only a tiny village yet this huge church – seemingly as big as a cathedral – dominates the area and it is hard to imagine why a church of this size was built. It was apparently constructed in the XIV century where a miraculous statue of the virgin had been discovered and replaced an earlier oratory of more modest stature. It is still a place of pilgrimage.

200807080061_Avioth-Madonna

200807080059_Avioth

200807080058_Avioth-door

200807080053_Avioth-door

Photo Art Friday

Comments on: "Photo Art Friday – favourite book" (6)

  1. Underbart collage av bilder. Tack för din kommentar och ha en trevlig helg.

  2. Wonderful pieces of Photo Art – I like the textures you used.
    Wow the Architecture of these photo’s is just amazing. Thanks for sharing them.

  3. Beautiful images! I loved that book too!

  4. That book was fantastic, I agree! I loved it so much and was sad when I read the last page. Your photos are beautiful, and the added texture only adds to the loveliness. I hope to go to Europe one day and see some of these gorgeous cathedrals…thanks for sharing your images!

  5. Beautifully executed photo art images! I am especially drawn to the third image. Great book btw!!!

  6. thank you to Carola Bartz who e-mailed me the following comment because Blogger wouldn’t cooperate:
    Beautiful images!!! I haven’t read the book, but I know what it is about (and you mentioned this here as well) and I think your images are perfect for it. They really are pillars of
    the earth.

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

