Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

travel theme: food

This week Ailsa has challenged us to share our photo experiences of food. Where in the world do I start, there’s so much wonderful food out there and I love all of it (well, nearly all). Now I regret the fact that I haven’t taken more photos of the food I’ve eaten or the food I’ve seen for sale on my travels.
Here are some of my food photos from Thailand:

201111190165_iced-green-tea-frappe
iced green tea frappe

201102270076_Red-Cross-festival-foodstal
a grilled fish stall at Koh Samui’s Red Cross festival

201102270072_sushi-stall
sushi on sale at the same festival

201102270060_drink-maker
this guy is mixing a drink

201102020320_food-stall
a food stall in Thailand – not quite sure what they’re selling

201102020322_food-stall
and another one

201102020333_food-stall
and another one

201102020368_CNY-Maenam
cakes – invariably they look better than they taste

201102040431_barracuda-in-banana-leaf
this was our dinner one night – you can just see the nose and tail fin of this banana-leaf wrapped barracuda waiting to be grilled on the barbecue

201102110453_reggae-pub-cake
cake made to celebrate the 23rd anniversary of the Reggae Pub on Samui

201102040410_CNY_department-store-altar
food offerings on a stand set up by a department store during the Chinese new year celebrations on Koh Samui

201002110432_Chinese-new-year
Chinese new year moon cakes

Why not see what sort of food other people have been photographing, here

Comments on: "travel theme: food" (3)

  1. Ooh, awesome photos, that fifth one of the unidentifiable food is brilliant – I love the big blocks of something strange right in your face, with everyone going about their work in the background. Wonderful perspective. I’ve always loved the look of Chinese New Year moon cakes but never tried them. Have you? Wondering what they taste like? xxx

  2. Those little alphabet cookies look very sweet, but I think I’ll settle for the sushi. 😉

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

