Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

This is the first time I’ve re-blogged a post from another blogger but this one really spoke to me. For some months I’ve been receiving inspirational photos and quotes from Dewitt Jones at Celebrate what’s right. His latest post about being a View Keeper really spoke to me.

He starts off:

“In the dark — the incredible stillness of morning. Long before the birds, a time when, if you listen hard enough, you can almost hear the twinkling of stars. Long before color, long before texture or composition, your camera useless, your eyes at the limit of their perception . Yet still… the beauty.

Here on Molokai I’ve taken a new job — View Keeper. Yes, that’s right View keeper. Not innkeeper, not beekeeper but View Keeper. Thoreau once said, “For many years I was the self appointed inspector of snowstorms and rainstorms and I did my duty faithfully.” He would understand my new job.

In this world of materialism and consumerism the glories that nature provides are free for all to enjoy. Ralph Waldo Emerson wrote: “the sky is the daily bread of the eyes” and to someone who lives where there is little natural beauty, the sight of an ever-changing sky must be a blessing indeed. It is easy to see why prisoners deprived of a window suffer so much.”

I too am blessed with a wonderful view, although it is only mine to view-keep for a few months longer when a new vista in a new country will spread itself before my eyes. Here the skies and the sea offer a constantly changing palette to delight the eye.

2010111150043_Seba-view

3122168861_6212010f25_o

201211030072_winter-sunset

201211130113-winter-sunset

201212040207-Seba-stormy-weather

201310290035-Seba-sunset

20140426_3394-Seba-sunset

20140423_3381-Seba-view

I have been blessed indeed.

Comments on: "Reblog: I am a View Keeper" (2)

  1. What a reblog indeed..

  2. pure attraction 🙂

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

