Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

Even if we didn’t manage to descend to the bottom of St Patrick’s well in Orvieto, Italy my glasses did. I leaned out to take a photo looking down the well and my camera jogged against my glasses knocking them off. I watched, horrified, as they bounced off the window ledge and then down into the void over 100 metres below…. We were at the beginning of our day’s outing and still had places to go. To make matters worse on our return to the hotel, when I put my spare pair of glasses on one of the lenses fell out of its frame. It was a public holiday just before a weekend and it was 3 days before I could get them repaired. Of such joys is life made!

20120811_5277_Orvieto-St-Patricks-well

20120812_5393_Terni-cascate-delle-Marmore
the cascate delle marmore at nearby Terni

20120812_5507-Gubbio
the chairlift down to Gubbio

IMG_7429_aerial-view_Small
Cappadocia

20140829_1212-Schaffberg
descent from Schafberg, Austria

When I was looking for suitable images for this challenge, although I found lots looking up various staircases, I had none looking down. I wonder why that is. Note to self – must take the occasional shot looking down a staircase

How did you interpret this week’s challenge?

Comments on: "weekly photo challenge: descent" (3)

  1. Oh dear what a pity about your glasses! Great photos though 🙂

  2. poppytump said:

    Oh no ! Ive endless problems with glasses too 😉 I bet there are a thousand and one things that have bounced and made their way down that well unexpectedly .
    Love your photo selection Carol .. just thinking those chairlifts look more like cages !

  3. […] Photo Challenge: Descent (Den Haag Fog) A Guide to Getting Lost Ancient temples in pond water It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see weekly photo challenge: desce… Thoughts of a crooked mind. Descent – Weekly Photography Competition. 2far2shout Weekly Photo […]

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

