Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

One of the sites that I really wanted to visit when we went to Sri Lanka was Sigiyria, home of the famous cloud maiden frescoes.

Appropriately enough, this is the home of the Cloud Maidens

IMG_6644-Sigiriya-1st-view

The approach is innocent enough
IMG_6652-Sigiriya-steps

but then you have to climb the cliff
IMG_6653-Sigiriya-metal-staircase

don’t look down
IMG_6654-Sigiriya-on-the-way-up

better still, don’t look up either because this is what you are climbing up
IMG_6655-Sigiriya-staircase

so far so good, here are the cloud maidens but you haven’t reached the summit yet
IMG_6656_Sigiriya-Cloud-maidens

IMG_6659-Sigiriya-Cloud-Maiden

IMG_6658-Sigiriya-Cloud-Maiden

20130111_6673-C-and-P
a rare photo of the two of us

you have to go down a section of rickety-looking staircase to get to the next section
IMG_6674-Sigiriya-staircases

past the mirror wall
IMG_6676-Sigiriya-mirror-wall

with the rock face towering above you
IMG_6680-Sigiriya-rockface

then out on to the plateau of the lions paws
20130111_6696-lions-paws

before the final ascent
IMG_6681-Sigiriya-staircase

with spectacular views, albeit a bit misty, from the top
IMG_6685-Sigiriya-view-from-top

it’s hard to imagine that people actually lived at the top and had to carry all their supplies up
IMG_6686-Sigiriya-at-the-top

I have to say that the climb was daunting – not for the faint-hearted or the infirm and my husband declined to accompany me all the way to the top. However, I’m glad I made it.

What form did your achievement take?

Comments on: "Daily Post: achievement in Sri Lanka" (11)

  1. Sigirya is somewhere I’d love to visit, what an achievement making that climb, I think I’m too old and wheezy. Fantastic to see the route ๐Ÿ™‚
    Oh and to see you both as well!

  2. So glad I saw this. I am headed to Sri Lanka in January. Looks too daunting for me to go too far up. ๐Ÿ™‚ I admire your endurance.

  3. This is really amazing. I didn’t know about this before. Wonderful frescoes!

  4. We’d love to see Sri Lanka ๐Ÿ™‚ Awesome photos!

  5. I enjoyed your achievement ๐Ÿ™‚ well done.

  6. Wow! What a breathtaking view that must have been!

  7. Awesome! I can’t let my wife read this post because I’m sure she’ll pester me to visit this place, but I’m afraid of heights …

  8. Wonderful story with some great images! Glad you made it to the top, great achievement ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. That is an amazing hike — and worth the effort from the photos!

  10. […] Achievement scottseyephotosWeekly Photo Challenge: Achievement โ€“ $ 74,880/36 year Surprise!!! It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you seeachievement in Sri Lanka RestawyleWPC- Achievement dreamdiscoveritaliaWeekly Photo Challenge โ€“ Achievement Cyan […]

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

