Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

Do you know what a persimmon fruit (aka sharon or kaki) is or looks like?

200510310047_persimmon-tree

the fruit resemble large tomatoes but are golden. They are best eaten after the first frosts have started to crack the skins, which are extremely astringent. Ideally you cut them open and eat them with a spoon. They grow around the shores of the Mediterranean and in Asia, where they frequently feature in art, especially in Japan. I have two trees in my garden and I love them because the fruit stay on the trees long after the leaves have fallen, adding a touch of winter gold to an otherwise barren scene.

It’s not a colour that I’ve photographed much but here are some taken on our Indian trip

IMG_9669-Amritsar-Sikh-guards

IMG_0336-Agra-parade

20130217_0442-orange-hand-prints

IMG_0769-woman-orange

sharing with Jennifer and other persimmon-lovers

Comments on: "one word photo challenge: persimmon" (3)

  1. poppytump said:

    Prolific persimmon tree 🙂 . Super selection Carole .. a colour with pop … you tag your photos much better than I do !

  2. Such beautiful photos. I love the handprints. I’m embarrassed to say that I’ve never seen a persimmon in person, and thus have never tried one. Do you like them?

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

