Art, Creativity, Photography, Travel, Writing

There is something intensely appealing to me about abandoned buildings. Apart from the fact that I find beauty in decay there are always unanswerable questions – who lived there, what were their lives like, what inspired them to build the building and why in this particular place?

The original photo was converted to a watercolour image
20160404_6531-waterlogue

the same original photo was converted to a pencil sketch
20160404_6530-picsketch01

the two resulting images were then combined
20160404_6534-picksketch04

and given a different colour cast
20160404_6533-picsketch03

This was the original photo
20160313_6198-abandoned-building_resize

20160313_6199_abandoned building
this is a larger view of the same building – unifinished – I suspect it was going to be a hotel and the owners simply ran out of money to complete the project

Which one do you prefer?

Inspired by Sally Donatello

Comments on: "Sally D’s mobile photography challenge: editing a photo with apps" (6)

  1. A very nice set of images that reveal the number of ways an image can be changed by a conversion. I especially enjoyed the combination of pencil sketch and watercolor, which almost became an animated image. Happy Photo Challenge.

  2. Love the water colour edit. 🙂

  3. The water colour is my favourite, it’s beautiful Carol!

  4. I enjoyed them all, but I think I like the watercolor edit best, too.

    janet

Please let me know what you think about this post, I welcome your thoughts

